

2017-2018 Distinguished Women Scholars - Call for Nomination

All nominations should be submitted to the Provost's office via the department Chair and the Dean. Nominators should supply:

- a. a complete curriculum vitae for the proposed scholar,
- the scholar's agreement to be nominated. Please attach an e-mail confirmation of the scholar's agreement to be nominated and agreement to participate if selected, in the year in which they are nominated,
- c. a plan for the visit to the University of Victoria which details information about the proposed public lecture by the scholar and the scholar's participation in the nominator's own and/or other academic units during the visit. The nomination should include a plan for what the scholar will be doing while at the University of Victoria,
- d. an email confirming that the Chair or Dean has agreed to provide any additional support that might be necessary to host the lecture, and
- e. an estimated budget.

Up to three nominations will be selected to receive funding based on scholarly excellence. Other criteria that may be considered include: support by multiple constituencies or academic units, sponsorship by an academic unit that has not hosted a speaker in the series recently, and sponsorship by a unit in which there is an under-representation of women. The maximum award for each speaker is normally \$4,000 to cover travel, living expenses, advertising for the public talk, and a \$1000 recommended honorarium.

Selected scholars will give one public lecture suitable to the University and the wider community, as well as lectures/seminars within academic unit(s) on campus. Visits are usually two to five days in length, i.e., if there are budget constraints, it is reasonable to limit the number of days. The nominating faculty member/academic unit(s) is (are) responsible for arranging the details for the speaker's visit, and are expected to act as host(s). The nominating faculty member/academic unit(s) must inform the Provost's office of the dates of lecture(s) and provide a sample of the posters(s)/announcement(s) to the Provost for approval. All poster(s)/announcement(s) must indicate that the lecture is sponsored by the Provost's Distinguished Women Scholars Lecture Committee. Please send PDF nomination(s) to the attention of Grace Wong Sneddon (gwongsne@uvic.ca) at the Office of the Vice-President Academic and Provost by 4:30 p.m., Friday, May 19, 2017.

Provost's Distinguished Women Scholars Lecture Committee Members:

Chair - Dr. Daniela Constantinescu, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Dr. Julia Baum, Department of Biology

Dr. Rebecca Johnson, Faculty of Law

Dr. Catherine McGregor, Associate Dean Graduate Programs and Research, Faculty of Education Dr. Charlotte Schallié, Department of Germanic & Slavic Studies

Dr. Nilanjana Roy, Department of Economics

Jennifer Stillwell, Department of Visual Arts

